top of page

Women's Committee Award

Named in honor of the original governing body of women's rugby, the USWRF Women's Committee Award annually recognizes 2 outstanding administrators.


To nominate an administrator or for more information please contact


2024 Administrator Award Winners Coming Soon!

2023 Administrator Award Winners:


Katherine Aversano

  • Program Director and Head Coach, Howard University Women’s Rugby

  • Program Director and Head Coach, Howard University Women’s Rugby

  • Former Coach, NOVA 15s, (2017-2021)

  • World Rugby Level 3 Coach Certification (in process)

  • Co-Director, USWRF Women’s Rugby History Project

  • Competitions Coordinator, Premier Rugby 7’s (PR7s)

  • Founder and Commissioner, Chesapeake Rugby Conference, Mid-Atlantic Division and the Collegiate Clinic Series (2016-2019)

  • Member, USAR’s Nominations Committee, DEI Committee and Discipline Committee (2020-present)

  • International Rugby Advisory Board Member, Old Glory (2020-present)

  • Board Member, James Robertson and Clive Sullivan Rugby Foundation

  • Board Member and the Region 6 Director, USA Youth and High School Rugby (2020-present)

  • Girls Tackle Commissioner, Rugby Maryland (2020-present)


Angela Smarto

  • Head Coach, Robert Morris University (2013-present)

  • Director and Division I & II Commissioner, National Collegiate Rugby (NCR)

  • Collegiate Coordinator, Allegheny Rugby Union

  • Executive Officer, Allegheny Rugby Union (former)

  • Executive Officer and President, Pittsburgh Forge Rugby Club

  • Director and Fundraising Chair, Steel City 7s (2014-2017)

  • World Rugby Level 2 Coach

  • Assistant Coach, Allegheny Women’s Select Side Program (2017-2022)

bottom of page