top of page
1990s Header-01.png

The 1990’s saw the continued growth of women’s rugby including the establishment of a framework for collegiate rugby, growth of D2 women’s club rugby and the first Women’s World Cup.

In the fall of 1991 the Women’s National Team won the first Women’s World Cup. "Four English women ruggers put the event together on a wing and a prayer and it was a smashing success. Seemingly no effort was made by USARFU to have an official on site for a world championship in which their team was favored to win." (Terence Lee, Rugby Mag. 1991)


In the US, the Women’s Committee continued to press USAR for the acceptance of a women’s national program. When USAR balked at supporting the US Women’s World Cup team, the Women’s Committee working with no funds, made the trip possible.

"We were running women’s rugby on a volunteer basis. We didn’t tend to have strong relationships with one another outside of the group. We met to do business. Most of our challenges were dealing with the men and the ‘lowly position’ of women’s rugby in the USAR pecking order. But we were a defiant group, committed to growing the women’s game. Jami Jordan, Chair, Women’s Committee 1989-1993)

Championship Wins

Collegiate National Champions: 

   1991 Air Force      1992 Boston College      1993 UCONN

   1994 Air force      1995 Princeton      1996 Princeton

•   1997 Penn State   •   1998 Radcliffe      1999 Stanford

Club National Champions: 

   1990 Belmont Shire      1991 Beantown

   1992 Bay Area She Hawks (BASH)      1993 BASH

   1994 Berkeley      1995 BASH      1996 Beantown

   1997 Berkeley      1998 Berkeley      1999 Berkeley

Flyhalf, Mary Dixie drinks from 1991 World Cup Trophy.jpg

1991 Women's World Cup

Women's National Team

Atlantis & the USWNT Team

1990 Trading Cards

bottom of page