2022 Kathy Flores Heart of the WPL Award

The Women’s Premier League, in partnership with the U.S. Women’s Rugby Foundation Kathy Flores Memorial Fund, presented the first annual Kathy Flores Heart of the WPL Award at the 2022 WPL Championships. The award honors legendary coach Kathy Flores, one of the founders of the WPL and long-time player and coach for the Berkeley All Blues.

The award nominees were selected based on the following criteria:

  • A passionate advocate for women’s rugby and a lifelong student of the game

  • An educator and mentor who builds strong, sustainable relationships on and off the field

  • Someone who works to elevate the women’s game and best represents the ideals of the Women’s Premier League.

2022 Recipient:

Lisa Jackson Atlanta Harlequins Rugby Club Age 37

  • USA U23 Forward Coach

  • USA ID Camp Coach

  • USA U23 Regional South Harlequins Forward Coach

  • USA Rugby South All-star Coach

  • Rhino Rugby Coach

  • Raleigh Rugby Club Men/ Women & Youth Forward Coach

  • North Carolina State University Men's rugby Coach

  • ROOTS Rugby Coach

  • USA Rugby Level 200 (World Rugby 100) Certified

  • Scrum Strong Coaching Accreditation

  • Eagle Eye Scout

  • Zone Representative East | USA Rugby

  • Raleigh Rugby Football Club: Event & Sponsor Director, Board of Directors, 2016-2020

As shared by Kittery Wagner Ruiz, WPL Co-Commissioner:

The 2022 winner, Lisa Jackson has been an unwavering advocate of women's rugby. She has the respect and affection of the entire women’s rugby community for her fierce commitment to building relationships within and across communities. Lisa exemplifies the best of qualities of Kathy Flores and the WPL, her passion for the game - her commitment, care, compassion and generous nature are standards for all.

2022 Nominees:

Kristin Aliberto - New York Rugby Club Jeanna Beard - Colorado Gray Wolves Olivia Benzan - Daniel - Beantown RFC Alicia Gillberg - Twin City Amazons Evan Hoese - Berkeley All Blues Kathryn Johnson - Twin City Amazons Samantha Luther - Colorado Gray Wolves

As shared by Kittery Wagner Ruiz, WPL Co-Commissioner:

The 2022 nominees represent the very best of the WPL community. In addition to working tirelessly to grow women's rugby at every